« March 2008 | Main | May 2008 »

April 2008

Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Monday, April 28, 2008

Friday, April 25, 2008

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Saturday, April 19, 2008

Friday, April 18, 2008

Thursday, April 17, 2008

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Monday, April 14, 2008

Tuesday, April 08, 2008

About OutWalking

  • Welcome to OutWalking, a likely over-ambitious source of reflection on the true, the good, and the beautiful in the world. (more). . .

Current Reading

Christmas Listening

  •  - December in Vermont

    December in Vermont
    : December in Vermont

    A wonderful singer-songwriter, Zeigler's folky, mellow renditions of carols and originals is warm and intimate, kind of like listening to a female James Taylor.

  • Jason Gray -

    Jason Gray: Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy
    Original, upbeat, worshipful, melodic, this album manages to be original while still invoking the memory of more traditional Christmas carols.

  • Mindy Smith -

    Mindy Smith: My Holiday
    One of the few good new offerings this Christmas, this release mixes six originals and arrangements of traditonal songs, ranging from homespun acoustic numbers to jazzier takes. Nice.

  • Rosie Thomas - A Very Rosie Christmas

    A Very Rosie Christmas
    Rosie Thomas: A Very Rosie Christmas

    Touching, diverse, and fun, Rosie Thomas and her nutty alter ego Sheila Shaputo are a delight. Last seen on the Christmas tour by Sufjan Stevens in 2012. I love this record, and the vignette at the end (Sheila a/k/a Rosie) is classic.

  • Sufjan Stevens -

    Sufjan Stevens: Songs for Christmas (Vol. 1-5)
    Like a campfire sing-a-long, only with hymns and carols and some originals, Sufjan's quirky, inimitable style is one I love, and when I listen to these five discs I am moved to worship (and occasionally laugh).

  • Sufjan Stevens -

    Sufjan Stevens: Silver & Gold (Songs for Christmas, Vol. 6-10)
    A wonderful follow-up to his Songs for Christmas Vol. 1-5, this additional five-disc collection is full of more riches (and some throwaways, of course), including the very (as my family agree) depressing but beautiful "Justice Delivers Its Death" (a/k/a "Silver and Gold") and the lengthy and fun "The Christmas Unicorn."

Christmas Reading